skip to Main Content

With its auspicious goal to produce competent and efficient human resource that can be instrumental in conservation and management of biodiversity, environment and natural resources and  development of rural communities, the IOF-PC, with the help of its enthusiastic teaching faculty and spirited staff, has always endeavored to ameliorate its academic environment and administer well designed educational programs that can address the current needs of the country  and the globe in forestry and allied fields. It is committed to satisfying student's quest for knowledge and pragmatic skills that will make all the difference in their professional career. The IOF-PC is currently running the following academic programs:

  1. Master of Science in Forestry
  2. Master of Science in Natural Resource Management and Rural Development (NRMRD)
  3. Master of Science in Watershed Management (WM)
  4. Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Forestry

Beside regular academic programs, it also conducts short-term national and international training and workshops in Forestry and allied subjects.

Tribhuvan University, Institute of Forestry, Pokhara Campus (IOFPC), established in 1981 as the central Campus, is one of the leading constituent public Campuses of the Institute of Forestry under the TU, Nepal. The Campus has envisioned producing technically sound and competent human resources, generating knowledge and developing technology to address the problems in the field of forestry, biodiversity conservation, and natural resource management.

IOFPC is in process of receiving quality assurance accreditation (QAA) from The University Grants Commission (UGC) Nepal. To facilitate this process, the campus submitted the self-study report (SSR) on December 30, 2019 and the QAAD/UGC has approved the document for the peer-review process.  IOFPC has formed two committees; (Internal Quality Accreditation Committee (IQAC) and Self – Assessment Team (SAT) to work on QAA system. The QAA accreditation will ensure the sustainable management and development of academic and administrative wings in IOFPC and facilitate the campus for academic excellence with assessing and reflecting its performance and weaknesses.

Grounded on the information and evidence obtained from the campus, the self-assessment of the current status of the institution has been made and thus submitted the self-study report to the UGC and its assessment process is ongoing. The SSR report summarizes the overall efficiency of the institution and core strengths and areas of improvement. Most importantly, it has provided the opportunity for self-realization in improving the institution’s performance in order to develop it more competitive and sustainable. The institutional assessment has been undertaken in eight generic criteria as prescribed by the QAA Guideline 2013, namely, Policy and Procedures, Curricular Aspects, Teaching-Learning and Evaluation, Research, Consultancy, and Extension, Infrastructure and Learning Resources, Student Support and Guidance, Information System, and Public Information.  

Internal Quality Assurance Committee (IQAC)

  • Chair: Prof. Binod Prasad Heyojoo
  • Member: Asst. Campus Chief, Bishnu Prasad Devkota, PhD
  • Member: Prof. Bir Bahadur Khanal Chhetri, PhD
  • Member:  Assoc. Prof., Mr. Prem Narayan Khanal
  • Member: Assoc. Prof., Ms. Basudha Shrestha
  • Member: Assoc. Prof. Ram Prasad Sharma, PhD
  • Member: Asst. Prof. Lila Puri, PhD
  • Member: Asst. Prof. Ms. Nirjala Raut
  • Member: Finance D. Controller, Mr. Yaman Sinha Bohara
  • Member: Deputy Librarian, Mr. Surya Bahadur Chhetri
  • Member: Section Officer, Mr. Mohan Prasad Sharma
  • Member: President, FSU
  • Member Secretary: SAT Coordinator, Thakur Silwal, PhD 

Self Assessment Team (SAT)

  • Coordinator: Assoc. Prof. Thakur Silwal, PhD
  • Member: Asst. Prof. Ms. Nirjala Raut
  • Member:  Asst. Prof. Ms. Neeru Thapa
  • Member: Asst. Prof. Mr.  Prabin Bhusal
  • Member: Asst. Prof. Dhruba Bijaya G.C., PhD
  • Member: Deputy Librarian, Mr. Surya Bahadur Chhetri
  • Member: H.A(IT), Mr. Pradip Subedi


Assoc. Prof. Thakur Silwal, PhD
Coordinator, SAT
Institute of Forestry, Pokhara Campus
Email: [email protected]

Back To Top