skip to Main Content

With its auspicious goal to produce competent and efficient human resource that can be instrumental in conservation and management of biodiversity, environment and natural resources and  development of rural communities, the IOF-PC, with the help of its enthusiastic teaching faculty and spirited staff, has always endeavored to ameliorate its academic environment and administer well designed educational programs that can address the current needs of the country  and the globe in forestry and allied fields. It is committed to satisfying student's quest for knowledge and pragmatic skills that will make all the difference in their professional career. The IOF-PC is currently running the following academic programs:

  1. Master of Science in Forestry
  2. Master of Science in Natural Resource Management and Rural Development (NRMRD)
  3. Master of Science in Watershed Management (WM)
  4. Master of Science in Community Forestry (CF)
  5. Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Forestry

Beside regular academic programs, it also conducts short-term national and international training and workshops in Forestry and allied subjects.

Introduction to campus

The Institute of Forestry, Pokhara Campus (IOF-PC), was established in 1981 as the Central Campus of the Institute of Forestry, one of the five technical institutes under Tribhuvan University, Nepal. The IOF, founded as Nepal Forestry Institute in Singh Durbar, Kathmandu, in 1947, was shifted to Suping (BhimPhedi) in 1957 and again to Hetauda in 1965. The IOF was run by the Department of Forests until July 1972, when it was incorporated into the Tribhuvan University, where it started its new existence as the Institute of Forestry. In order to meet the growing demands for skilled and competent natural resource managers in the country, the IOF founded the IOF-PC, which launched two academic programs: a two year Technical Certificate in Forestry (TCF) and a three year Bachelor of Science in Forestry (B.Sc.F). The latter was changed to a four- year program in 1995 and the former has been phased out. .. More »

Message from Campus Chief

The Pokhara Campus (PC) of the Institute of Forestry, Tribhuvan University, was established in 1981 with technical and financial assistance from the World Bank, International Development Agency (IDA) and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). We, at the PC, have founded a strong base with good infrastructures and qualified faculty and staff who are dedicated to providing academic instruction, guidance, assistance, and mentoring. We have been administering well designed educational programs in academic environment conducive to fulfilling students’ quest for knowledge and pragmatic skills by involving them in course works and research activities. Now, we run a four-year Bachelor of Science in Forestry (B.Sc. F.) and four two-year Master of Science programs in four different disciplines: a) Forestry, b) Natural Resource Management and Rural Development (NRMRD), c) Watershed Management (WM) and d) Community Forestry (CF). …….. Read More

Prospectus 2021-2022
Cover Page
Area of Campus (in Ropani)
Teaching Staff
Non-Teaching Staff
Current students

We Are Here

Back To Top